MANAD’s affiliate branches

From its formative years in 1992 to 2008, MANAD has been operating in the area of its cradle, Blantyre and some of districts in neighboring region, centre Lilongwe and Ntcheu districts. In order to spread the operation of the association started a program of setting up branches in the districts. With financial support from the Finnish Association of the Deaf (FAD), MANAD trained 13 Trainers of Deaf Trainer (TDT) drawn from Blantyre, Lilongwe, Nkhota kota, Mzimba, Karonga and Mulanje. After completing the course, they were sent to open branches.

The branches are under the control of MANAD district committee headed by the chairperson. The chairpersons from each district branches had a leadership training in importance Sign Language, how to use sign language interpreter, HIV/AIDS, human rights and deaf awareness issues, mobilization of members to set up branches, MANAD constitution and organizational structure, advocacy, communication, gender, leadership, resource mobilization and fundraising and conflict management.

Branch Opened in 2001;
  1. Lilongwe
Branches opened in 2009:
  1. Mzimba
  2. Karonga
  3. Mulanje
Branches opened in 2010:
  1. Nsanje
  2. Phalombe
  3. Machinga
  4. Mangochi
  5. Mchinji
  6. Kasungu
  7. Nkhota- kota
  8. Nkhata bay
  9. Rumphi
  10. Chitipa
Branches opened in 2011:
  1. Chikhwawa
  2. Neno
  3. Zomba
  4. Dedza
  5. Salima
  6. Ntchisi
Branches opened in 2012:
  1. Balaka
  2. Mwanza
  3. Ntcheu
  4. Dowa
  5. Likoma
  6. Mzuzu